Pastoral Area Resource Team (PART)

Armagh parish is one of four parishes in the local cluster. The name of the local PART is St Patrick’s Cathedral Pastoral Area. A Pastoral Area is a cluster of neighbouring parishes that support each other and share the collaborative gifts and talents of each parish. With the help of the Holy Spirit, they do this in order to fulfil the mission of the Church, to proclaim the Word of God and further the mission of Christ in the world.

Each Pastoral Area has a priest leader who, in keeping with Church law, is called a Vicar Forane (VF). The eighteen vicars were appointed following a poll of all the priests of the diocese in which they were asked to say who they thought should be the priest leader in each of the pastoral areas. In other words, the eighteen were chosen by their peers.

The work of each pastoral area is coordinated by a pastoral area resource team. The team consists of people from each of the parishes in the pastoral area. Under the leadership of the VF, the pastoral area resource team helps to strengthen each of the parishes in the pastoral areas by:

  • Ensuring the effective sharing of the collective gifts and talents of the parishes in the pastoral area.
  • Identifying pastoral matters that can be done better together as a pastoral area than separately as individual parishes

Those who serve on St Patrick’s Cathedral Pastoral Area Resource Team from the parish of Armagh are as follows:

  • Fr Peter McAnenly Adm
  • Sheelagh Melville
  • Valerie McGeown